schmidlawlibrary

Posts Tagged ‘databases’

Law Students: Do You Know Casemaker?

In Check This Out on April 16, 2015 at 5:29 pm

Resource of the Week: CaseMaker
CaseMaker is an online database of primary legal materials that is available for free to all Nebraska State Bar members. It is free for all students, too. All you need to do is go to the Nebraska State Bar’s website and register as a student bar member. Once you are registered, you will have full access to CaseMaker.

casemaker logo

Advertisements

Students: Sign up for Practical Law (free account)

In Check This Out on February 10, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Calling all Nebraska Law Students! Sign up for your free Practical Law student account.

Practical Law

Practical Law is an online interactive forms database that’s available to all law students for free for you to use throughout law school, until six months after you graduate. The service, first developed in England and recently acquired by Thomson Reuters (West), is designed to provide you with a comprehensive collection of forms that can be used in practice. It’s also designed to be simple for you to register.

Unfortunately, intentions haven’t quite met up with practice. To register, follow this link: http://us.practicallaw.com/ and click on the button/banner for student registration. Be sure to fill out the form completely, including your anticipated year of graduation and UNL email address. If the web form isn’t filled out completely, you won’t receive an error message.

If you don’t hear back from them within a few days, call this phone number: 646-562-3405. If you have any further difficulties registering, please see one of the librarians for help.

University Libraries & Schmid Law Library to Offer Free Access to BNA

In Check This Out on August 29, 2013 at 5:37 pm

The Schmid Law Library and Love Library are pleased to announce the availability campus-wide of a significant online legal, environmental, business and general regulatory news and reporting service, BNA (Bureau of National Affairs).

All UNL users will now have access to premier news and primary law materials in taxation, environmental law, health law, health and safety, human resources, labor and employment, securities and corporations, banking, bankruptcy, patent and trademark law, legal professional responsibility, criminal law, bio tech and privacy to name just a fraction of what’s available. In all there are around 200 newsletters and databases available to all UNL faculty and students. Follow this link to sign up for daily, weekly or other periodic email newsletters and gain access to the individual databases.

The Bureau of National Affairs (BNA) founded in 1933 began publishing The United States Law Week, which focused primarily on reporting all legal news in the federal government. US Law Week quickly became the standard source of news about the US Supreme Court and all federal courts. Today, the company boasts the largest network of reporters in Washington, DC, that report exclusively on and gather legislative and regulatory materials on every topic imaginable. Many of their titles have become standard works in their areas of focus.

Change Is In The Air

In Read This on April 1, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Lexis Users Take Note
Beginning this summer, Lexis’s new platform, Lexis Advance will become the primary means for using Lexis. All regular LexisNexis passwords will be discontinued and you will be required to use your new Lexis Advance login credentials. If you haven’t done so already, you should be given an option to set up your Advance account when you login. We recommend that you take the time now to register for your Lexis Advance account in advance of the switchover. If you have questions about how to do this, please see one of the librarians.

Library Personnel News
After ten years of good and loyal service, Paul Lommasson has announced that he’s retiring. We’re going to miss him very much, and, even though you may not personally know him or have directly come into contact with him, you have seen his work all around the library. He’s the one responsible for managing the library’s thousands of serial subscriptions and all of our Government Documents. His work is everywhere and done so efficiently that it’s likely that we all take it for granted. If you have a chance, please join me and all the library faculty and staff in thanking him for years of excellent service. His last day is April 4!

Extended Library Hours – Spring Semester Finals
Friday, April 19 7:30am – 12:30pm
Saturday, April 20 8:00am – 10:00pm
Sunday, April 21 9:00am – 12:30am
Mon – Friday, April 22-26 7:30am – 12:30pm
Saturday, April 27 8:00am – 10:00pm
Sunday, April 28 9:00am – 12:30am
Mon-Tues, April 29-30 7:30am – 12:30am
Wednesday, May 1 7:30am – 8:00pm
Thurs-Friday, May 2-3 7:30am – 5:00pm
Saturday, May 4 9:00am – 5:00pm
Sunday, May 5 CLOSED

Times Are a Changin’

In Check This Out on March 4, 2013 at 5:12 pm

BNA Publisher Change

You may notice that some familiar titles formerly published under the imprint of BNA (Bureau of National Affairs) will look a little different. BNA and Bloomberg Law have merged and the new company is beginning to roll our new binders that reflect the new company name: Bloomberg BNA. Both companies have assured us that nothing more than the publisher’s name will change. We also encourage you to take a look at the updated list of Bloomberg BNA titles available via electronic subscription. One new title of note is BNA’s excellent Water Law & Policy Monitor.

Lexis Users Take Note
Beginning this summer, Lexis’s new platform, Lexis Advance will become the primary means for using Lexis. All old passwords will be discontinued this summer and you will be required to use your new Lexis Advance password. We recommend that everyone take the time now to register for your new Lexis Advance account now in advance of the switchover next summer. If you have questions about how to do this, please see one of the librarians.

Do You Know Where to Go Vote?!

In Check This Out on November 5, 2012 at 9:40 pm

November 6th is Election Day.  If you live in Nebraska and are wondering where to vote, check out the State of Nebraska VoterCheck website.  This resource lets users search for Vote Registration Information, Your Polling Place, Search Your Provisional Ballot and/or Search Your Absentee Ballot.

American Indian Law Collection @Schmid Law Library

In Check This Out on February 29, 2012 at 5:23 pm

Schmid Law Library recently added the American Indian Law Collection available in Hein Online to our electronic resources collection.

Features include:

  • Legislative Histories
  • Constitutions, Acts & By-Laws
  • CFR Title 25
  • US Code Title 25
  • Scholarly articles
  • plus related titles and resources

Hein Online is available through computers on campus, and home access available to UNL faculty, staff and students.  Please see a Schmid Law Librarian for remote access details.

Library Resources for You!

In Read This on February 23, 2012 at 7:01 pm

The semester is moving along, assignments are coming due and we know students are looking for the right book, article or case for your project.

Did you know the library subscribes to an impressive list of database and resources just for our law students?  Check out the complete Resource Tools list here but first, let’s highlight a couple that will help you!

BNA: Electronic subscription to BNA materials covering the following subjects: Antitrust, Banking, Bankruptcy, Corporate, Criminal Law, Employee Benefits, Employment and Labor, Environment and Safety, Ethics, Family Law, Health Care, Homeland Security, Intellectual Property, International Law, International Tax, Litigation, Product Liability, Securities and Corporate Responsibility, Tax, Trade and Commerce

Environmental Law Reporter: Provides analysis and reporting on every aspect of environmental law. Includes current news, articles, cases, administrative documents, environmental statutes, international treaties and federal and state regulations.  (Online version of the Environmental Law Reporter, containing news and analysis, topical updates, and guidance and policy directives.)

Hein Online: Available collections: Law Journals, European Center for Minority Issues, Federal Register, Legal Classics Treaties and Agreements, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Federal Legislative Histories, U.S. Statutes at large, U.S. Supreme Court  (Full text of hundreds of legal periodicals from their first issue to, in many cases, the current issue. Format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials including articles, essays, book reviews, etc. Searchable by author, title, keyword, and citation. Browseable by journal title, author, and article title.)

Please note: Databases are available through computers on campus, and home access to UNL faculty, staff and students, a few may require passwords for remote access.  See a Schmid Law Librarian for details.